Chapter 5: Tactical Planning and Execution

  1. Several resources contributed to the explanations, tables, and templates in this chapter. See in par-ticular the following excellent sources (all accessed June 16, 2017): 1) Content Strategy Alliance, Tools and Templates: A Best Practices Handbook, Content Strategy Alliance, 2015, http://content strategyalliance.com/csa-best-practices/csa-handbook; 2) Michelle Linn, “A Blueprint to Jump-Start Your Content Marketing Strategy,” Content Marketing Institute, January 1, 2015, http://content marketinginstitute.com/2015/01/blueprint-jump-start-content-marketing-strategy; 3) Jodi Harris, “The Content Marketing Book of Answers: Strategy & Planning,” Content Marketing Institute, 21 June, 2016, http://contentmarketinginstitute.com/2016/06/content-marketing-strategy-... and 4) templates and guides by CoSchedule (www.coschedule.com), Buffer (www.buffer.com), Hubspot (www.hubspot.com), Marketo (www.marketo.com), SmartSheet (www.smartsheet.com), Curata (www.curata.com), and Sprout Social (www.sproutsocial.com).
  2. The tactics listed include 11 identified and defined by Accenture; see Accenture, Talk With Me not At Me: Playing to Win with Social Media, 2014, www.accenture.com/t20150523T022446__w__/ us-en/_acnmedia/Accenture/Conversion-Assets/DotCom/Documents/Global/PDF/Dualpub_1/ Accenture-Playing-Win-Social-Media.pdf (accessed June 16, 2017).
  3. Diana Shafer, “Bizzuka CEO John Munsell’s Quote Heard Around the World,” Bizzuka Blog, December 1, 2011, https://bizzuka.com/company-blog/bizzuka-ceo-john-munsells-quote-heard-a... (accessed June 16, 2017).
  4. Danyl Bosomworth, “The Content Marketing Matrix,” Smart Insights, January 12, 2014, www. smartinsights.com/content-management/content-marketing-strategy/the-content-marketing-matrix-new-infographic/?utm_source=hubspot&utm_medium=pdf&utm_campaign=contentplanning (accessed June 16, 2017).
  5. “Types of Content Created vs. Considered Most Effective According to US Content Marketers, Sep 2016 (% of respondents),” eMarketer, January 20, 2017, www.emarketer.com/Chart/Types-of-Content-Created-vs-Considered-Most-Effe... (accessed June 16, 2017).
  6. Joe Pulizzi, “A Simple Approach to Document Your Content Marketing Strategy,” Content Marketing Institute, October 10, 2016, http://contentmarketinginstitute.com/2016/10/simple-content-marketing-st... (accessed June 16, 2017).
  7. Google, “The YouTube Creator Playbook for Brands,” https://think.storage.googleapis.com/docs/ creator-playbook-for-brands_research-studies.pdf (accessed June 16, 2017).
  8. Jack Neff, “Can Brita Filter the Negativity Out of Twitter? Here’s How It’s Trying,” Advertising Age, April 5, 2017, http://adage.com/article/cmo-strategy/brita-filter-negativity-twitter/30... source=daily_email&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=adage&ttl=1492036735&utm_ visit=2032908 (accessed June 16, 2017).
  9. A list to several excellent templates is provided at Mitchel Hall, “Content Marketing Editorial Calendar Templates:  The Ultimate List,” May 8, 2017, www.curata.com/blog/content-marketing-editorial-calendar-templates-the-u... (accessed June 16, 2017).
  10. “How to Use A Content Marketing Editorial Calendar to Save a Ton of Time,” CoSchedule, https:// coschedule.com/content-marketing-editorial-calendar (accessed June 16, 2017).
  11. “#Fail: 29 of the Biggest Corporate Brand Social Media Flubs,” CB Insights, March 17, 2017, www. cbinsights.com/blog/corporate-social-media-fails (accessed June 16, 2017).
  12. Bethany Biron, “How Instagram Beat Out Snapchat as Fashion’s ‘Social Darling’,” Glossy, March 28, 2017, www.glossy.co/platform-effect/how-instagram-beat-out-snapchat-as-fashion... (accessed June 16, 2017).
  13. Maggie McGary, “Social Media Stress is Real,” SocialFish, March 13, 2017, www.socialfish. org/2017/03/social-media-stress-is-real (accessed June 16, 2017).